Job Search Flower 2014: A request for crowdsourced help

16May14

In the book What Color is Your Parachute? and on his website, Richard Bolles encourages people to look into themselves to figure out what they are looking for in a career, and what they can offer an employer. In the book, he includes seven exercises and organizes the results into a ‘flower diagram’, which he encourages readers to share with others and ask them for their input.

Here is my request for my reader(s):

Please review my flower and send me a comment if you can think of a career that I can bring the best of myself  to and which I will find fulfillment in.

My Career Search Flower for 2014

My Career Search Flower for 2014 (Click to Enlarge)

First Petal:

My Favorite Knowledges or Fields of Interest

  1. Career Counseling
  2. Academic Advising
  3. Volunteer Management
  4. Employer Relations
  5. Scottish Politics
  6. US Politics

My Favorite Mediums

  1. Blogging
  2. Writing
  3. Social Media
  4. Essay Writing
  5. Editing

Second Petal:

What I Can Do and Love To Do:

Skills Important to Me:

Writing, Problem Solving, Advising, Teaching, Designing, Creating, Using my Brain, Synthesizing, Researching, Editing

Skills I have used Frequently:

Writing, Problem Solving, Research, Using my Brain, Designing, Planning, Editing, Communicating Orally, Initiating, Following Through

My Favorite Traits

  1. Creative
  2. Open Minded
  3. Independent
  4. Innovative
  5. Self-Reliant
  6. Astute
  7. Empathetic
  8. Humanly Oriented
  9. Cooperative
  10. Knowledgable
  11. Supportive

Third Petal:

My Favorite Working Conditions:

  1. Appreciation
  2. Adequate responsibility
  3. Predictable day with few interruptions
  4. Hands-off management
  5. Sufficient training
  6. Good communication
  7. Low need for precision

Fourth Petal:

My preferred Salary: $40,000 – $50,000

Level of Responsibility I’d like:

  1. Working independently
  2. Working as part of a team of equals
  3. Working as a partner

Non-Monetary Rewards:

  1. Chance for creativity
  2. Chance to help others
  3. Intellectual stimulation from colleagues
  4. Challenge
  5. Influence
  6. Respect

Fifth Petal:

My Preferred Places to Live:

  1. Ellensburg Washington

Perhaps someday:

  1. Norfolk England
  2. Portland Oregon
  3. Walla Walla Washington

Sixth Petal:

My Goal, Purpose, or Mission in Life:

I want to serve the kingdom of the senses, bringing beauty to the world and (hopefully) raising consciousness and compassion in the process.

I am interested in being near family, in places with a somewhat mild climate, a college or university, and a lively downtown.

Seventh Petal:

My Preferred Kinds of People to Work With:

  1. Take responsibility for their work.
  2. Invest in staff
  3. Manage by results
  4. Shows appreciation for staff and Colleagues
  5. Does their own work (with or without support)

My Holland Code:

ASI (Artistic, Social, Investigative).

My MBTI Code:

INFP

I very much welcome your feedback, especially because I’m finding it hard to think of a career that actually meets my parameters.

Thank you.

2 Responses to “Job Search Flower 2014: A request for crowdsourced help”

  1. 1 cynicalgeekgirl

    I am not fond of leaving comments on a wordpress site and I would probably normally email or call, but life. You can probably figure out who I am. Much love to you and your family!

    I just reviewed your job search flower and I don’t have much in the way of help except to say fight the good fight and keep trying. Hit that shit and hit is hard. Expand beyond yourself even though it’s difficult for “I”s to meet new people – you have traveled the world over and had to depend on others, so get out there. Never say that your ideal job would need a low degree of precision – there’s all sorts of ways to measure, and the Man loves accuracy and precision. For those of us who need to sell our hours, accuracy and precision can be greatly improved and even become normal by a number of techniques. Hide this comment and the exercise after you get whatever responses you need. Truth telling is dangerous.

    Also, at the 40-50K range, doing what we do (I have always assumed that we do essentially the same things daily, albeit in different locations with very different organizations) our lives are full of amazing interruptions that you can embrace – when the boss bursts in and re-prioritizes your orderly day (even when there is a catastrophic emergency), that’s an opportunity. I track them. In my case, it can sometimes be the best part of my job. I have the box that I have chosen, partly through total need to feed and clothe the peeps in a harsh environment, but I don’t have to stay in it all day.

    Anyhow, I am sitting on a job offer right now that will make me risk the items that would be on this exercise if I took it, and I have very little time to make a decision. I will go make my own flower.

  2. Here are a couple of the ideas that have been left on other LinkedIn discussions (names of contributors left out because I have not requested their permission to name them):

    1) “Ray, you are the person I’ve been searching for. Your perfect career is to show politicians how to be civil and work together toward a goal. That means to the goal will not completely meet the deepest desires of any group or individual but will require compromise and collaboration.

    Your interests (US politics) and favorite media would lead you toward this challenge. In the beginning you would be working alone but I believe that you will attract others into the field enabling you to work independently but with colleagues. Clearly, you can work from anywhere but will be able to travel and work remotely. Holland and MBTI support this career direction.

    Please, please, take up the gauntlet and prove e pluribus unum.”

    2) “What comes to my mind: a job with an NGO, setting up fundraising campaigns and recruiting and managing volunteers. Maybe an NGO with a mission in the field of preservation of the environment/ sustainability.”


Leave a Reply

