Some Days….

16Oct13

I have a job that I hate and that doesn’t pay the bills. I have applied for hundreds of other jobs, with no luck. I recently had jury duty and found the experience a breath of fresh air.

Some days, when I get to the office door in the morning, I wonder if I wouldn’t rather just keep walking, how far I would get, and how long it would take before I was missed.

Some days, I wonder if the biggest mistake of my live was failing to go to my college’s career services office while a student.

Some days, I wonder if the biggest mistake of my life was deciding to pursue graduate study in the humanities, not realizing that if I only achieved a master’s degree I would be less employable than I was with my bachelor’s.

Some days, I wonder if the biggest mistake of my life was thinking that my employer meant full time employment when they offered full time employment.

Some days, I wonder if the biggest mistake of my life was buying a house in May 2007, even though the house we were renting was mold-infested.

Some days, I wonder if the biggest mistake of my life was deciding to continue breathing on any given day.

I never have a day when I wonder what was the best career choice that I have made. Thinking of that, I think I need to change that.

This is my barbaric yawp:

I will not give up. There is still fight in me. I will carry on. Life has not beaten me yet, and I will not let it.

No Responses Yet to “Some Days….”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

